Should I give a try or it is pointless?

Mayro

Ok, first hi to everyone. I'm new at G3 and have just about started to think in making a mod, a npc mod. The problem is that I have no idea of coding, AT ALL. My profession is not related to computers, I have never studied programming and have never used a computer appart from users level: eMule, playing games, using office, listening music, etc...

So, is it totally worthless to try and make a mod? I know that cases have been done when someone writes the entire story and some other codes it (Fade npc mod for example) but I don't really want to depend on otre person's free time. I myself will have to postpone any try until I finish my studies at university (hopefully this September) and then until I find a job and start working I would like to write and make a mod. I know that given the case of me being able to code something, it will probably take one or two years (between real life bussiness and code learning) to make it. I don't really care for that. What really makes me doubt is: Downloading the tutorials (from here and from other communities), downloading a one-day npc and looking through its code, and asking modders (here and in other sites) will I, a complete noob, be able to make something decent?

I'm a bit silly when I start doing something new (from playing a game to driving my car) but when I learn how to do something I do it decently. The problem is that I have to practise a lot until I learn.

I'm not talking about creating new areas, new creatures or something very very complicated. I'm talking about a normal npc, as much similar to Bioware's ones as possible. And then, if I'm able to do it, try something more complicated.

Thanks in advance and please, be totally sincere with me and as blunt as you are capable of. I don't want to start something I'm not able to finish.

Mayro

I

Just do it.

If you have an idea you love, build it, even if it is just for yourself.