Is Wish a HLA?

DavidW

Is the Wish spell a High-level ability like Dragon's Breath, Improved Alacrity and the like?

That's not a technical question. I know it's available on scrolls, not on the HLA level-up list, etc. I'm thinking more in terms of flavour and balance.

SCS II separates out HLAs from other spells. The player can choose what to do - give HLAs to everyone, or just special people, in SoA, or ToB, or both. Personally I think of HLAs as a ToB thing and it spoils the flavour to have enemies chucking them around in SoA (plus it makes things insanely difficult). But what about the occasional Wish? If one or two late-game creatures (Kangaxx comes to mind, partly as a result of playtesting) had them independently of the main distribution of HLAs, is that good or bad?

views welcomed...

Depends on who you ask. I tend to think of it as an HLA, although some folks treat it as a normal 9th level spell, suitable for daily memorization.

Sorry, but I'm a veteran D&D player. Wish aged the caster significantly. I just can't imagine something like this being used on a daily basis.

In the D&D sense, most HLAs in BGII would probably be classified as level 8 or 9 spells. However, Wish gives all the benefits without any of the drawbacks, so I can see the justification of treating it the same as other HLAs from a balance perspective for AI scripting.

One thing I wouldn't like however, is letting enemies just use whichever wish effect the like, rather than being confronted with a semi-random selection of choices.

Wish is a regular (albeit the most powerful) level 9 spell in 2E. It ages the caster, true, but so does Haste. The game conveniently ignores such effects, which is for the best IMO.

I say leave it as it is. All of its possible effects are randomized and restricted by Wisdom anyway. I think it's balanced.

As Caedwyr said, if the enemies (ie. Kangaxx) are subject to the same set of rules regarding it, I wouldn't mind. But then again, I don't play SCS.