Crash to Desktop

Caedwyr

With my kit mod that I've been working on, everything works fine, except for HLAs. When I level the character up high enough that the ABILITIES button lights up in the level up screen, clicking on it causes a crash to desktop. Anyone have any ideas what could cause this behaviour? I've checked everything obvious to me such as the spell .bam icons (32x32, apparantly the right colour scheme), the .2da table with the HLA assigned, and nothing seems to be incorrect or corrupted. I did make one correction to luge0.2da (the HLA .2da table), but that didn't seem to have any effect on the crashes.

So, any good canidates for causes of the CTD involving HLA selection?

Not off-hand. But then again, I've no experience with the HLAs.

In general, debugging crashes: If you add

[Program Options]
Logging On=1
Debug Mode=1

in baldur.ini, do you get anything interesting in baldur.err after the crash? Might not, but it's one thing to try to get more info.

I don't get any BG error message. I do get a Windows XP error message which may be taking the place of the BG error message. I"ll take a look through the windows error message details to see if I can find a ChVidPal.cpp type message buried in there.

Are there any good tools for checking to see if the bams are okay? They all open just fine in Bamworkshop II and DLTCP.

I don't get any BG error message. I do get a Windows XP error message which may be taking the place of the BG error message. I"ll take a look through the windows error message details to see if I can find a ChVidPal.cpp type message buried in there.
It is that message you want to capture - usually it's some sort of assertion error with a module name and line number, that can reveal what's going wrong.
Are there any good tools for checking to see if the bams are okay? They all open just fine in Bamworkshop II and DLTCP.