Uh-Oh. Help with Baldur's Gate

Guest Guest

Alright, so I'm not very good with computers...or Baldur's gate for that matter, so I'll come here to adress some of my troubleshooting needs.

Firstoff, I have Vista. This may be the problem.

What's wrong is I'm trying to get the Console for cheats to open, but I can't. I can't change any of the files that are in the BG2 folder. When I do, and try to save I get (this is for the autorun file):

Cannot create the C:\Program Files\Black Isle\BGII - SoA\autorun.ini file.

Make sure that the path and file name are correct.

I cannot uninstall either when I try I get:

Setup failed to launch installation engine: Error loading type library/DLL

I somehow managed to edit the Baldur.ini file (some time ago so I don't remember how) but the system doesn't seem to notice, since I have the Debug Mode = 1 in place...but the in game console won't load...

If anyone knows how to solve my problem, thanks. For now, I'll just blame Vista.

Firstoff, I have Vista. This may be the problem.
Correct.
For now, I'll just blame Vista.
Also correct. But don't stop at blaming it - uninstall it :).

I'm pretty sure this is a Vista "security" pain-in-the-arse. My experience with Vista consists of installing it, messing with it for half an hour or so, then reformatting the drive with Linux, so I probably can't be of much help. Maybe this'll help though. Basically you need to give yourself permission to edit the files I think.

The game console won't load probably because you edited the ini file in your compatibility files.

In your BG2 folder, youll see an icon on the top toolbar that says Compatibility files. I believe if you click that you will see a new set of files and baldur.ini will be one of them. Edit it as normal and save it.

If you are the administrator of your computer, you can right click on the BG folder and go to properties. From there, you can edit your settings regarding what you can and cannot do (read, write, execute, etc).