My first mod

ericp07

Hello,

My dream of creating a joinable mod NPC is materializing, as I followed theacefes' tutorial, with additional guidance from some of you fine people. Successfully installed the bare-bones mod, loaded a test game currently in Chapter 2, and got the NPC to join my party :)

This is my first attempt, and more work is needed to make the character a meaningful and desireable asset to a party (though she's great in battle). I'm thinking of modifying her portrait (it's from a piece of art by Luis Royo) or, even better, asking someone to create a portrait based on the one I'm using. Also, I'll need to decide whether to ask the creator of Sorschana's soundset for permission to use that as her voice, or to ask around here for someone to voice lines that I'll write for the files that comprise a soundset. The more I think about it, the more I feel that original work in the graphics and sound departments is the best way to go.

Now that the character "works," I'll need to explore and follow the process for creating a kit for her, as I don't want her to be a vanilla ranger who will be met with overwhelming yawns ;) This character is the subject of my interest in creating an interesting variant of the Needle of Mielikki kit, which could use some enhancing in order to be seen as worth the effort. She needs to be more than just another pretty face ;)

I just wanted to make this basic announcement because I'm happy it worked, and now I'm ready to sculpt the model into a work of art!

Happy modding,

Eric

Congratulations, Eric!

Hello,

My dream of creating a joinable mod NPC is materializing, as I followed theacefes' tutorial, with additional guidance from some of you fine people. Successfully installed the bare-bones mod, loaded a test game currently in Chapter 2, and got the NPC to join my party :)