Baresh aka Improved Illyich in disguise

Taimon

Well, I just had the most challenging fight since I started playing Baldur's Gate. :)

First, let me note I'm on BGT here and I installed the Improved Balduran's Isle component. (sidenote: The special wolves (Karoug, Kaishas, ...) lost their immunity to non-silver/non-cold-iron weapons in BGT [ringwolf.itm is just the on from BG2]. This makes the fightes much easier. I'll report to BGT forums.)

So I'm back in Ulgoth's Beard ready to fight Mendas. Business as usual until Mendas dies and Baresh was still alive (and human). He casts a spell and I thought he would change to a werewolf. Well, I was wrong. He decided to bring in something rather special and summoned a fallen planatar (and died shortly after casting the spell). So that leaves my lvl9/10 party against a lvl25 planatar.

I finally had a use for all those potions I kept carrying around and I needed a lot of them. Never had more fun fighting against an single opponent. Thank you for this experience. :)

After looking at the scripts, Baresh is supposed to ForceSpell 2924 which was BERESH_CHANGE in BG1, but in BG2 (and BGT) it is WIZARD_SUMMON_PLANATAR_EVIL.

BGT usually does ApplySpellRES spki925.spl (which does ReplaceSelf kaishwlf.cre) KAISHAS_CHANGE). BG1UB has spki924.spl (ReplaceSelf barwlf.cre) when using BGT, so this may be used as a workaround.

There is also some minor incompatability with BG1UB. It will modify some actions in Mend4.dlg and SCS also wants to modify it, but expects the unmodified actions.

I was surprised that nobody else reported this issue, but I guess most of the people either use Tutu or kill Baresh before he can get his spell off.

The BG1UB incompatability leads to Mendas instantly changing to a werewolf instead of fighting as a human (at least on BGT). So if anyone reports something like this, you know who is to blaim. :)

I finally finished the BG1 part of BGT and really liked the improved final battle. Thank you!