The replace command and how to use it?

Chronis

So I started off just making dialog files and copying them into the override file. However, I soon realized that since I was replacing the dialog files of original bioware characters, this approach would make my mod incompatable with everything else.

So I graduated to using

EXTEND_BOTTOM

APPEND

CHAIN

which seems to work better. However, there are some blocks of original bioware dialog that I want to replace.

Is there a replace command that can do this? If there is would you mind posting an example of how one would use it to replace a block of text in a dialog file?

Thanks so much,

Chronis

Edit: Changed the topic title so other people can benefit from the description below

If you absolutely have to (and only if you absolutely have to) you can use

REPLACE_SAY (somewhat destructive) with another command to either alter or add to the triggers and actions;

REPLACE_SAY ~%tutu_var%BRIELB~ 14 @1
ALTER_TRANS ~%tutu_var%BRIELB~ BEGIN 14 END BEGIN 0 END BEGIN ACTION ~SetGlobal("P#Briel_Stay","GLOBAL",1) RealSetGlobalTimer("X#BriLostPatience","GLOBAL",1800)~ END

or

REPLACE_SAY ~%KIVAN_BANTER%~ 4 @4
REPLACE_TRANS_ACTION ~%KIVAN_BANTER%~ BEGIN 4 END BEGIN END ~SetGlobal("Kivanfight","GLOBAL",1)~ ~SetGlobal("X#KivanfightBanterBlocked","GLOBAL",1)~

you sometimes have to build just a new trigger or action to go along with this, but ALTER_TRANS is the best way to go. The common followup is

REPLACE_TRANS_ACTION _QUAYLP BEGIN 2 END BEGIN END ~JoinParty()~ ~SetGlobal("KickedOut","LOCALS",0) JoinParty()~
REPLACE_STATE_TRIGGER ~_BYESLI~ 9 ~InteractingWith("kagain") RandomNum(8,1) Global("X#BIOYE1","LOCALS",0)~

You can also REPLACE the whole dialogue state (really destructive, but sometimes the only way to do stuff)

REPLACE ~%tutu_var%BRIELB~
IF ~Global("HelpBrielbara","GLOBAL",1)~ THEN BEGIN 16 // from:
SAY @2