Simple Mods

Hiya.

I'm pretty new at this modding stuff, but there's something I'd like to create, if I can. Is it hard to create a mod that installs a few portraits and changes a few .bams?

Here's what I mean.

I keep having to reinstall this silly game (for a number of reasons) and every time I do it, I have to go through and manually re-enter all my portraits (I have a lot of them that I like to use). I also have a few .bams that I like to use (primarily for containers... I have color coded bags of holding and scroll cases). And finally I have a few minor changes that I make to a few items (like taking the kensai restriction off the shield of balduran so my front line guy can use it in the beholder area). All of these things I usually do by hand, one item at a time, and it takes hours. After about the third time doing it you start to wonder if there's an easier way.

What would I need to be able to do to make a mod that would do all that for me?

Any advice would be appreciated.

You could probably do it with a simple batch file command, to move the appropriate files to the appropriate directories.

Alternately, and I think a little easier, you could put all the files into an archive (ZIP or RAR) while preserving the directory paths they're in. After a reinstall, simply extract the files, telling the archive program to preserve those paths and bingo, you've got all your files in the right place.

Personally, because I've got the hard drive space, I keep a copy of the game with all my basic mods on it in a separate directory and just use it to replace my old game when I need a reinstall (deleting the old files first, of course).

You could probably do it with a simple batch file command, to move the appropriate files to the appropriate directories.

This is where I show my ignorance: