First time playing BGII - one or two issues.

Guest Guest_Mike_*

Guest Guest_Mike_*

Basically, this is my first time playing BG II so I don't know if this is a glitch or if it's supposed to be the case, but when I hover over any menu item, for example, the attack option, the cast spell option etc, it doesn't tell me what they are.

I've just been doing the tutorial, and it's constantly telling me to perform certain actions - steal, for example, and I've simply had to work out which icon does what by trial and error. It doesn't state the name of a spell either, when I hover the cursor over it to either cast it or memorise it.

Any fix for this?

I've installed fixpack v6 without the beta option, and I don't know if that's the cause? The patch for ToB is also installed if that's of any relevance.

Well, you have to wait, for a second or less... unless you want to push the Tab key, which gives the display scroll immediately after you are on top of the icon and push the key. Or this is how it should work.
Basically, this is my first time playing BG II so I don't know if this is a glitch or if it's supposed to be the case, but when I hover over any menu item, for example, the attack option, the cast spell option etc, it doesn't tell me what they are.

I've just been doing the tutorial, and it's constantly telling me to perform certain actions - steal, for example, and I've simply had to work out which icon does what by trial and error. It doesn't state the name of a spell either, when I hover the cursor over it to either cast it or memorise it.

Any fix for this?

I've installed fixpack v6 without the beta option, and I don't know if that's the cause? The patch for ToB is also installed if that's of any relevance.

The "fix" is RTFM (the pdf IS in your BG2SOA dir)--go look at your ingame config options GUI and slide your hoverhelp delay bar up/down a bit. Get to know all the little ingame options/buttons intimately, they make you happy. TAB key forces hoverhelp.