BG2 Tweak Pack - Bug when using "Allow Thieving and Stealth in Heavy Armor" in BG1Tutu

forbjok

I started playing BG1 with Tutu and some components of the BG2 Tweak Pack installed - among them "Allow Thieving and Stealth in Heavy Armor", and after a while I noticed that some armors that are normally wearable by thieves without the tweak had severe thieving penalties on them.

The ones I've seen so far is "Studded Leather Armor" and "Shadow Armor" (which afaik is specifically intended for thieves, and so is made completely useless).

I uninstalled the component, and that seems to have fixed the problem (leather armors no longer have penalties), however it essentially makes that particular tweak completely useless.

Is there any fix for this problem, apart from simply not using the tweak?

Not a bug. According to standard PnP AD&D 2nd ed. rules, thieves have penalties in studded leather and heavier armour. The Shadow armour still is better than standard studded leather.

(Player's handbook, page 39)

Not a bug. According to standard PnP AD&D 2nd ed. rules, thieves have penalties in studded leather and heavier armour. The Shadow armour still is better than standard studded leather.

(Player's handbook, page 39)

How does it make sense for the Shadow Armor then?

As far as I can tell, it's specifically designed for thieves, and with this tweak installed the penalties completely cancel out the bonus given by the armor, making it useless for thieves.

It might as well be removed from the game at the same time, since it no longer has any useful purpose.

The way I understand it the point of the tweak was to change armors that would normally completely disable thief skills so that they could be worn while still being able to use thief skills at a penalty - not to nerf armor that could previously be worn by thieves without penalties into complete uselessness.

Even if it IS according to the AD&D rules, I don't see how it makes sense in this game.