...What the hell?

Guest Icarian

Guest Icarian

Ok, something very annoying just happened to me.

I installed BG2+ToB+official patch, and created an inquisitor (took me almost three hours of unblinking, hand-hurting torment to roll the stats I wanted).

After completing Jon's dungeon, I exported my character, and left several saves behind (auto, quick, named). Then I decided to try out tutu, and installed a number of mods for both games (widescreen, scs, scsii, fixpack, npc project, banterpacks, crossmod, questpack, npcflirt, and a couple of those new npc mods).

I started playing tutu with a wild mage, and got to Peldvale before deciding that scs is not really my cup of tea (improved AI is one thing, but pre-buffed mages with stoneskin and improved invisibility dominating my fighters and throwing high level magic missiles at my fragile level 2 caster is just ridiculous).

Anyway, I went back to BG2 to check something, and the game just gives me the finger. No saves anywhere to be found, no exported characters, nothing. All gone.

I used search, hoping to find them misplaced somewhere on my HD, but nothing comes up. They've been deleted, and not by me. What's that about?

Guest Icarian

And here's the real funny part: the custom portrait and voice the character used are still there.

I can only assume that one of these mods, or the installation of tutu itself, somehow "reset" the saves and characters, but I don't know when it happened exactly. Still, the bug is too big to be ignored. I don't want to spend entire days playing just to have my progress randomly deleted. Tutu crashes as well. It only happened a handful of times, usually while crossing from one area to another, but it's still a pain.

I think I'll go back to playing the game unmodded, and I advise anyone who plans to use them to back everything up first. Had this happened when I had all those 30+ characters in the game folder, I would've needed medical attention.

So much to respond to in this post!