Question About BG1 Voices

Raulke

Might be a silly question, but I'm new to this business of modifying games. :) I'm extremely dissatisfied with the range of voices that are selectable for the player's character in the original Baldur's Gate game. Is there a way to add more? I have a microphone, and I'm able to record more. I've also looked at the ones that are there, so I think I know the order that the sound files are supposed to go in.

Oh yes. I don't know if this is important, but just to note, I don't have any of the expansions/other games, just Baldur's Gate, and it's not a Tutu installation. Thanks, and I'm sorry if I should have put this elsewhere, it's already been answered, or it was a really dumb question. :)

~*Raulke

this is a list of the sound file suffixes. just add it to the end of a 3-5 length word and save it as a .wav in your Sounds folder (raul3.wav, raul38.wav, etc). some you won't need (insult).

there's also quite a few homemade soundsets around here and SHS.

(BG2 equivalents are in parentheses)

BG

1 initial meeting

2 morale break

3 battle cry (8)

4 happy

5 annoyed

6 pissed off

7 hostile

8 made leader (b)

9 tired ©

10 bored (d)

11 hurt (e)

12 forest (n)

13 city (o)

14 dungeon (p)

15 day (q)

16 night ®

17-19 select common (f,g,h)

20-22 select action (i,j,k)

23-26 select rare (s,t,u,v)

27-31 interaction

32 response to insult

33 dialog hostile

34 dialog default

35 insult

36 compliment

37 distrust

38 injured (l)

39 dying (m)

40 reaction to death generic (w)

41 reaction to death specific

All I have to do is put them in there and they'll be selectable in character generation? I looked in my sound file, and there seems to only be thirteen files per voice set, a-k, and they seem like a pretty predictable pattern.