Long-term vs. Short-term pre-buff spells

Hey all, this is my first time playing through the SCS II mod and it's been an enormous challenge so far.

One thing I've found counterintuitive is the option to have mages "cast previously" some protective spells.

When I read the description of this mod, for some reason I saw "short-duration" spells, but my mind read "long-duration". And I think, the latter actually makes more sense.

For example, given the length of time that Stoneskins last, I think it's conceivable that a mage would keep it actively buffed on himself at all times. So that if a Bhaalspawn just happens to round the corner of the room in the dungeon he's sitting in, he's at least somewhat prepared. However given the time that Protection from Magical Weapons lasts, I think it's a little odd that they've cast this before I show up. Since if I didn't show up, they'd be without this buff for the majority of the next 8 hours until they finish resting again.

Anyways in short, I think a nice option for a mod like this would be to allow mages to cast previously any long-duration buffs, like Stoneskin for example. Going off of the Gamefaqs spell description page, other spells with a duration measured in hours include:

Armor

Invisibility

Stoneskins

Animate Dead

Invisbile Stalker