Updated GUI

Saneroki

Hello everyone,

I wonder if it is possible\easy to give the Baldurs Gate GUI an overhaul.

I am a Graphical Artist and would love to make such a mod. Problem is that I have no clue about how the Infinety engine works or how to mod it.

So I decided that before I even try to dive into all that, it would be wise to ask the experts first about help analysises and everything else that might help me .

My wish is an Interface that fully supports the Widescreen and gives the Information in a slightly/drasticly better way.

Everything that could help me is very appriciated. Everything.

From a tip, suggestions, links to guides to helping me to do the programming of the mod.

Below are some very fast SKETCHES. Thats only for delivering my idea. Those Pictures are in every way unfinished and nothing that I would use.

2cgxxrq.jpg

2iqbuv8.jpg

zlah4n.jpg

I suppose it should be possible, but what happens if someone isn't using a widescreen display?

There are a handful of GUI mods (LadeJarl's TutuGUI (on pocketplane.net) and Kwiat_W's W_GUI (on shsforums.net). Might want to look at how they work.

Thanks Miloch,

the thing is, that both of those Mods are "still" in a form factor of 4x3 and does show the Information in the same way.

My intention is, to take the advantages of Widescreen and higher resolution into account.

So yes this would make it necessary to use the Widescreen mod.

Okay i began to dive a little into it.

I found all GUI picture parts in the BAM and MOS files.

How does the engine know where to place which picture?

I guess it has something to do with the CHU files but that cant be everything.

Are there Script files or anything where the behavior and position are, on pressing that button, loading save x or on pressing that button initiate Level up Interface?

Also how does the engine know where to place which information like Character Experiance, Saving throws etc_