Install Order questions

xbenbox

Hello Everyone,

I'm quite new to the Baldur's Gate series as a whole. I recently bought the anthology edition from Amazon and am hoping to get started soon. Before doing that, however, I have been reading about the mods provided by this forum and want to do a clean install to be safe. I'm just curious as if the links provided are still up to date as some of them are from quite a few years back.

http://forums.pocketplane.net/index.php/topic,17556.msg236895.html#msg236896 This link was last updated in 2004-2005 ish and I'm not sure if I should continue to follow it if I'm installed fresh on Win 7 (Not sure if CDs are already up to date either)

Also, if anyone could tell me what the top mods currently being used are for this game, that'd be very helpful. I think I'm planning on using widescreen and Tutu for sure. Nevertheless, there are some others that seem to enhance gameplay quite a bit such as characters, questpacks, and soundpacks. I'm not sure where to begin looking so any help would be great! Open to suggestions and thanks again!

See the Tutu Mod List in my signature. I don't know if there's a "recommended" mod set, as everyone has their own recommended mods. You could also check the BiG World Project. Start with the install guide, which has various categories of mods (recommended, tactical, "expert" aka probably buggy etc.).

those instructions are still valid. Only thing you need to make sure you do differently (since its not stated) is to install to any directory you want outside of Program Files. In other words, choose your own directory rather than going with the default. Windows 7 protects the Program Files directories and you'll be asking for trouble if you install to the default location.

To learn what version # you are using in order to apply any patches as necessary:

1) Run the game.

2) Start a new game or load a save

3) Go to the options screen. In BG1 it is the icon that looks like a floppy disk