Where to begin

Jdracous

Hello.

I have downloaded several kitpacks for use of my own character creation. However I would like to expand and add some of these kits to the joinable NPCs in Baldur's gate tutu. Specifically I want to take the Shield bearer from the Pocket plane dimension's "six's kitpack" and the Shadow druid & Priest of Tempus from Spellhold studios' "prestige kitpack" and add them to Khalid, Feldorn, & Branwen (In that order). Oh and I would like to make Coran a swashbuckler instead of a fighter/theif. However I have no modding experience nor do I know anyone with experience that I can talk to. So I'm asking if anyone can give me a place to start? I've tried finding tutorials on my own but they seem a little overwhelming. None of them take into the account the possibility that you know nothing on the subject.

Introducing the mod Level 1 NPCs

Install your custom kits first

then install Level 1 NPCs

download links for varying OSs are here:

http://forums.gibber...oads&showcat=42

mod forum here:

http://forums.gibber...p?showforum=140

FAQ here:

http://forums.gibber...showtopic=12239

excerpt from the readme

Level 1 NPCs expands on the original concept by allowing players to assign any installed kit/class - default or customized - onto any default NPC from both BG1 and BG2 games. The mod also allows players to change the NPC's skills and weapon proficiencies.

start small

don't jump in and try to tackle something like the BG Fixpack LOL (that was my mistake ^^)

There are numerous tutorials, tho some use outdated coding methods for weidu yet even so those methods usually still work.

Best thing is to pick a mod that does something you like -- you'll stay interested longer

Get a copy of ConText or Notepad ++ both of them have highlighters available (somewhere on this site) for the various weidu mod file types

Start taking a look at what they do.

Have the IESDP handy. It'll help you to understand where and what is happening with the mod code.