Macs, ViDock 4, PC emulators, Widescreen and BG1 GUI

mayoung1

This documents a fairly complex test (and test environment) of a non-tutu, non-BGT, and non-BWP modification of BG1/ToSC (5512). I’ve played both BWP and EasyTutu versions on several occasions, so it was of some interest to go back to a closer incarnation of the original release and see how well modifications worked and how much I’d miss some of the nicer mechanical aspects of the BG2 IE world.

Up until this point, all of my BG-world has been on a Mac (OS X 10.5.8) using Mac versions of the game software and adapting mods as needed to the OS X universe, but when Amazon started selling a PC DVD 4 in 1 box set of BG1/ToSC/BG2/ToB for about $15, I decided it was time to experiment a bit. Since I’m an IT consultant for engineering companies writing technical proposals to capture work, I already had a lot of emulation software for thinking about (and experimenting with) conceptual uses of virtual machines (VMs). I have four different emulation engines - CrossOver Games 9.2 (and its big brother CrossOver), iEmulator 1.7.9 (and its newer incarnation iEmulator V), Parallels 7 and VMWare Fusion 3.1.2.

The hardware used for testing is listed below:

MacBook Pro (MBP)

2.6 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo

4 GB 667 MHz DDR2 SDRAM

NVIDIA GeForce 8600M GT (built in graphics card)

ViDock 4 with an installed ATI Radeon HD 5770 HD (external graphics card)

OS X 10.6.8 (Snow Leopard)

Mac mini

2.7 GHz Intel Core i7

8 GB 1333 MHz DDR3

AMD Radeon HD 6630M 256 MB (built in graphics card)

OS X 10.7.4 (Lion)

Onkyo TX-SR508 (stereo receiver) with a 7.1 speaker system

HP 2511x (monitor)

A discussion of the hardware and its setup: