Using negative numbers in Effect Parameters (THAC0 penalty)

khelban12

Greetings.

Is there a way to use negative numbers in effect parameters ? Maybe i have done some silly mistake (i have zero modding experience) but i cannot get THAC0 penalties to work. Let me describe what i want to do.

I tried to modify the Called Shot ability that the Archer kit gets and give it different abilities and also extend it beyond L16. The abilities i chose work fine but i cannot grant a THAC0 penalty. I wanted to do that because, in PnP, when a CS is activated, there is a penalty (i think -4) to signify the greater difficulty of aiming the specific body part and an additional penalty on top of that if the part is small (like an eye).

The Archer kit achieves very low THAC0 so maybe the penalty will not make any difference but i would like to do it. I thought to give -2 THAC0 penalty per CS ability (-4 at L8, -6 at L12, up to -16 at L32). Because there might be many opcodes for this thing, i opened the spell that grants the archer bonuses (spcl122) to see what opcode it uses. It is the "Stat: THAC0 modifier with Missile Weapons" effect with opcode 167. So i modified the CS spell (spcl121) and added on each extended header a new effect with opcode 167 and parameters target = self, timing = duration, duration = 12, type = 0 (cumulative), modifier = -2 (and -4, -6, etc).

The problem is that the negative penalty gets wrapped to a positive bonus. If i enable the extra combat info, for a L10 archer i get:

Normal Shot: Bonus 12 (Weapon:1 + Proficiency:3 + Dexterity:4 + Racial:1 + Missile:3)

Called Shot: Bonus 264 (Weapon:1 + Proficiency:3 + Dexterity:4 + Racial:1 + Missile:255)