Detectable spells discussion

khelban12

Forgive me for hijacking the thread but i don't know where else to post it. SHS is down and this thread is the most recent thread about DS and has all the relevant people in it. Feel free to move it elsewhere if this is the wrong place for it.

Over the years i have noticed many DS versions being used by mods (some of them messing with stats when reordering them so that some mods cannot be installed because they can't find some stat they want).

I haven't followed the progression to the letter but it seems there are 3 versions used by major mods. At least from the git repos that i follow, i notice the following:

1) Many mods use a version named v3-20180512 (for example atweaks, rogue rebalancing)

2) Other mods use a version named v3.1 (for example item revisions). I am not a weidu expert but this version seems better to me than the 20180512. Some differences are that it uses some inline tables of spells and stats, the function names have the prefix ds_, a file that is used by the mod is named ag#dsal2.2da instead of ag#dsalt.2da, and it uses the function sort_array instead of SORT_ARRAY_INDICES.

3) spell revisions use version v3.95 with many changes by Ardanis which looks even better to me. Some differences are that the inline tables have many more values in them, some stats are named differently (for example 166 is changed from DMWW_SLOT_166 to MELEE_THACO_BONUS, etc).

Until here, everything is ok. I thought that eventually every mod will settle using the 3.95 version that spell revisions does but a few days ago, when i ran git pull on the ascension mod, i saw a commit that copied a new version of DS called v3.95_dw from the upcoming 32 version of SCS. One change is that instead of inline tables, it uses associative array. It doesn't look very different to me but i can't say for sure.

So i have some questions about this: