(Potential) bug when importing BG1NPC into EET

Guest RaphaBE

Guest RaphaBE

First, some background... As I was installing EET through Project Infinity, I experienced an error with Ascension. Some research led me to the following discussion where other players experienced the same issue:

https://forums.beamdog.com/discussion/77155/help-with-eet-install-order/p2

The explanation provided by Knuckels makes sense, and was partially acknowledged by ALIEN. Hopefully he'll fix Project Infinity accordingly. Meanwhile I've performed a two-steps installation of EET as suggested, which resolved the issue.

However, being a programmer myself, I decided to check whether I could modify the EET script to avoid this two-steps installation. In the process, I looked at the script which handles compatibility with BG1NPC (EET/compat/bg1npc/include.tph) and I found something suspicious:

//Compatibility with BG1NPC Banters, Quests, and Interjections
ACTION_IF (FILE_EXISTS ~WeiDU-BGEE.log~) AND (FILE_CONTAINS ~WeiDU-BGEE.log~ ~BG1NPC\.TP2. #[0-9]+ #1 ~) BEGIN

I do not think that's correct, because the BG1NPC components for "Banters, Quests and Interjections" should be 10 instead of 1. Thus I expect that the code should be modified as follows:

//Compatibility with BG1NPC Banters, Quests, and Interjections
ACTION_IF (FILE_EXISTS ~WeiDU-BGEE.log~) AND (FILE_CONTAINS ~WeiDU-BGEE.log~ ~BG1NPC\.TP2. #[0-9]+ #10 ~) BEGIN

Now, I don't know whether it really matters that much as the operations performed in that block may not have much (if any) of an impact - still, it's probably worth fixing (assuming I'm correct).

Side question: as discussed in the link above, the issue with Project Infinity is tied to the fact that there's a space at the end of the Regex expressions. I assume you're intentionally using such a space because using "#1" would also match expressions like "#10" "#11" etc?

Guest RaphaBE

Right, that's what I ended up doing, but that wasn't the main point here.