"Invalid" text on items and dialogue options

I just started playing IWD:EE and installed some mods that were listed as compatible/recommended.

I have noticed items that show up as "Invalid" so I cannot see its stats or anything other than its icon (screenshot attached). Upon meeting one of the custom companions and speaking with him all his dialogue options showed up as "invalid" and I couldn't interact with him as I didn't know what options to pick. 

I used the recommended install order

1) story mods
2) NPC mods
3) item mods
4) kit mods
5) BG2Tweaks
6) other tweak/overhaul mods

I installed https://forums.beamdog.com/discussion/79347/the-new-light-collective-thread-for-lavas-and-aionzs-mods/p1 the story mods from here as well as the companion and item mods.

Then I installed the tweaks from this website and picked only some of the basic options that didn't change the game much.

This is all that I installed and I am wondering if anyone knows what causes this problem, and if I need to do a clean install of the game and start over?  Will I still be able to continue with my current save file?

Invalid.jpg

Language.

As in, what language did you have the game set on when you first of all started it ? Yes, you need to start the game to set the default language. And then install the mods on the same language. Then you have to set the Weidu language, this consists of the WeiDu.conf -file.

Here's the English one's content:

lang_dir = en_US

... and then the mod language.

Tweaks ?

26 minutes ago, Hockey85 said:

Then I installed the tweaks...

None of those has the word "tweak" in them.

9 minutes ago, Hockey85 said:

This did not fix the item in game.  Do I need to start a new game from scratch in order for this to take effect?