Protection from effects in items and spells

I'm actually studying a lot of items and spells to understand the mechanics around the protections, immunities and exceptions in specific situations. But with all the iterations between the games, the enhanced edition, and EET, it's quite a mess to understand.

So i would llike to understand the basics of protection/immunity here.

Opcode 101 (immunity to effect) should cover the base of those protection. But i see that it gets some sidekicks with it a lot of times

Those are (quite often):

Opcode 169 (prevent portrait icon)

Opcode 267 (disable display string)

Opcode 286 (immunity to specific animation)

and, the one i have difficulties to understand all of its aspects:

opcode 206 (protection from spells)

One example: if i want to protect from gaze attacks: opcode 83 (immunity to projectile) with parameter "xx - Gaze" should be enough, but i see that there are some 206s with specifc spells inside and i don't understand sometimes why. I mean, If some spells didn't have the gaze projectile, i could understand the need to add that 206 because the opcode 83 would not be enough, but if the spell gets that projectile already, why should i add some other opcodes to specify from other effects to protect ? Shouldn't the protection from the projectile be enough then ?

My question is: how do i know what to take into account to apply those specific opcodes ? Because, when i look at all my spells and items in my actual setup, there's seem to be a lot of small differences between the same protections/immunities, like a potion will have one more opcode 206 than another item for example, but the description says it's protecting from the same effects. Is there some convention, or basics to know about all that ?

I don't know if i'm clear enough, english is not my native language, so i apologize for that.

29 minutes ago, ptifab said: