A stupid question or a bug? (35.17 BG2EE SoA)

Guest monsieur

Guest monsieur

Is it normal that when you start a new game that the player characters bhaalspawn special abilties are completely random? When I started with a berserker main character I had 2x vampiric touch, 2x horror, 2x larlochs minor drain and of course 2x enrage. Last time I played a couple of years ago I remember that they were completely different. Next I made a generic fighter and started a new game and this time they were 2x draw upon holy might, 2x slow poison, 2x cure light wounds. Each time I start a new game the special abilites are different. I'm one of those who never played the non-enhanced editions and this is only my second time using any mods so I'm not that experienced. So is this just a normal part of the game that I never paid attention to mods or no mods, or is this a delibirate change by a mod or is it a bug?

Posted (edited)

Normal, but it's not entirely random. When you start a new game in SoA, the Bhaalspawn abilities are chosen based on the protagonist's alignment. There's some randomness in the EE, but good characters will tend to get the good abilities and evil characters the evil abilities. (This is a difference between the EE and the original game; original BG2 chose the abilities deterministically based on a 2DA file.)

SCS does not affect this at all.

Edited by jmerry
Posted (edited)
35 minutes ago, jmerry said:

original BG2 chose the abilities deterministically based on a 2DA file.

First you got ninjaed, and then you couldn't look up the name of the .2da file. Well, here it is, and linked: abstart.2da
And I could be wrong, but I still don't think it's random at all. In BG1, the abilities depended on the alignment score(or reputation) you had at the time the chapter dream happened, which wasn't random, but your score could of course go up and dip and dive depending on what you did which could make it look like it was RANDOM, which it wasn't.

Edited by Jarno Mikkola