A Scholar tries to Mod - Part 1 - Are the files referenced through other files?

Hi everyone. I'm new to the modding scene and am working on a dual-wielding Avenger druid NPC to join everyone's rank. Unfortunately, I know very little and trying to find the equivalent of a How to Mod BG2 for dummies is like trying to find several needles in various haystacks. This is, of course, pt.1, of what is most likely, many parts of me trying to make the mod a reality.

With that being said, part 1 is of the following code with Kulyox's (Thank god they made this, or else I would have gone insane) Branwen mod.

// This is my creature file, my .cre file. How to create it? Create a character in the game, export him, open him via Shadowkeeper and convert him to .cre. Or copy an existing .cre file. Near Infinity and DLTCEP help you edit your .cre.
COPY ~Branwen/Characters/O#Bran.cre~ ~override/O#Bran.cre~ // copy our .cre file to the game. Below I edit(patch) O#Bran.cre, adding a soundset, a bio, a dialogue file and other nice things.
SAY NAME1 @2 /* Branwen */
SAY NAME2 @2 /* Branwen */
SAY INITIAL_MEETING @3 /* By the ice breath of Auril! 'Tis good to see new faces and taste freedom again. */ // This text in square brackets means that BRANW01.wav is assigned here.
SAY MORALE @4 /* Tempus, forgive my cowardice. */
SAY HAPPY @5 /* I am proud to stand among such strong warriors. */
SAY UNHAPPY_ANNOYED @6 /* Our actions are not those of warrior born. */
SAY UNHAPPY_SERIOUS @7 /* What sort of craven cowards are we? */
SAY UNHAPPY_BREAKING @8 /* I can no longer honorably work with such as you. */
SAY LEADER @9 /* I have always dreamt of leading such a worthy band. */
SAY TIRED @10 /* I'm tired. */