Adding special abilities to a kit

Guest Yuruilan

Guest Yuruilan

:)

I'm totally new to both modding and this site (Thanks for the wonderful tutorial, first off!). What I'd like to do is create a kit with some special abilities. I went through the tutorial, which I managed to follow (I think!). The problem comes when I wish to add abilities to a class. This is the idea I wish to use:

Basically a shadow warrior - thief with weapon spec. in katana, scimitar, dart, and single weapon fighting. Not able to use other missile weapons. That much was no problem.

Moving on from HERE is the difficulty... what the heck do I do now? I'd like to add some abilities, such as blur, mirror image, shadow door, and summon invisible stalker. The limitations would be 20 points max in thieving abilities, and the weapon prof losses above. I saw that the Wushi Ninja was very similar, and so I thought to look it over for ideas on how to go about modding, but I became utterly lost from "Copy_existing..." on!

If someone could give me an idea of how to add one of these abilities (for example, adding blur at 3rd level as an innate ability) I could probably (hopefully!) figure out the rest. It's that first one that kills.

Thanks in advance!

Hey Yurilian, welcome to G3. :)

For a first time modder, you may want to make spells in an editor and just copy them with your mod instead of altering spells on the fly like the Wushi Ninja kit. I'm not sure what level of experience you're at, so I'm going to take this from a low level and try to explain everything.

What differentiates an innate ability from a wizard or priest spell are just a handful of values in the spell file. The Wushi Ninja kit just takes mage spells and clones them into innates with the following:

// Adding abilities for the Wushi Ninja Kit
COPY_EXISTING ~SPWI217.spl~ ~override/C!WNAGN.spl~ // aganazzar's scorcher innate
             ~SPWI201.spl~ ~override/C!WNBLR.spl~ // blur innate