Item help

berelinde

I'm just learning to mod. I know better than to ask someone to teach me to code. I'll learn that, or go crazy trying.

But there is something I would like to implement, and I think an item would probably be the easiest way to acheive that.

I would like to make an NPC an arachnaphobe. He'd suffer a 6 penalty to THACO against spiders. I'd prefer an inate ability (disability?), but an item is probably easier. Maybe an amulet? This would have to be undroppable/unpick-pocketable. If someone wants to remove the amulet via SK, so be it, but I'd like to package the NPC with it.

Ostensibly, the amulet would appear non-magical, and unremarkable. He would describe it as something with important personal significance, but little value and less power. Maybe it would be camoflaged as a good luck charm or a religious token of some kind. But the important bit would be that he gets the THACO penalty.

I'll plug away at it if no one has the time or inclination, but I'd appreciate the help.

As far as it goes, CREeatures can have permanent effects assigned to them fairly easily.

So, you want effect 178, THAC0 vs. type bonus - IDS Target 4-RACE/116-SPIDER - Inst/Perm - Parameter -6

You could set this up in NearInfinity, or using DLTCEP.

Once the creature file has it, that creature will always have that effect.

Lots of people comment on the difficulty of using DLTCEP but personally for Item and Creature editing it is far more user friendly than other tools available.

Just take a look at an item that you know offers a similar effect and see how it works.

At this point, its *all* way over my head. But I'm going to do a bit of reading and see what works with my freakish thought process.

Problem is I can't think of any items that apply a penalty (or at least not immediately). I would not want the item to display a cursed portrait icon, for exampe.

I guess it will get my feet wet.