Changing weapon restrictions for multi-class

meat axe

Hey, I've read that you can't change weapon restrictions for a certain kit without changing the limitations for the entire class, but what about for a multi-class? Say I want to change the game so that a cleric/ranger class can uses the ranger's weapons instead of the cleric's. Is this possible without changing the cleric's restrictions? As I understand it, multi-class is another class altogether, not just a combination of two classes. (Hopefully that all makes sense. Finished my last exam for the year this morning, so I am running on low sleep)

The reason I ask, of course, is that I recently started playing bg2 again, and thought, instead of my usual fighter/mage (either multi- or dual-), I might go for a divine class instead. However, I want to use my katanas (Simply because they are cool, and hurt things a lot).

Anyway, any help in this would be appreciated... Or even just point me in the direction of help.

Cheers.

Yes, this should be fairly straightforward. Multi-classes have their own usability flags, so they can be set independently of their component classes. For example, this is why fighter-druids have druid restrictions for weapons but not armor--the flag can be set separately from the single-class fighter and druid usabilities.

You can use an editor to alter these flags manually, you could try bodging together some code to do it, or check out Ashes of Embers. It removes clerical weapon restrictions so it should open up katanas to everyone, including cleric-rangers.

Yes, this should be fairly straightforward. Multi-classes have their own usability flags, so they can be set independently of their component classes. For example, this is why fighter-druids have druid restrictions for weapons but not armor--the flag can be set separately from the single-class fighter and druid usabilities.