Would a half-dragon NPC be possible in BG2?

Andrea C.

Hello everyone!

I'm quite new to these boards and I'm currently translating some of the G3 mods for BG2 in italian. I've never done a mod myself and I have no experience with coding what-so-ever, so I'm asking 1) whether it would be possible to create this mod and 2) whether there are people on these boards actually interested in developing it.

My idea is basically that of a female half-dragon sorceress joinable NPC, chaotic evil and fully romanceable. The main things to be done are importing the half-dragon avatar from IWD2 and create a paperdoll for it; I can work on the details with those who offer to code the mod.

Before even starting, though, I'd need to know whether importing the avatar from IWD2 would at all be possible.

One problem with IWD2 avatars are that they have the swords they hold in their hands. This sword will not dissappear if you reequip her with another weapon, the way it does on the animations that are designed for the in-party characters. The only way you can go around it, is by blanking out all choices of weapons for her, *appart* from the sword. She also won't have any 'casting spell' animations.

Another thing, I think that BG2 does not have a 'half-dragon' in its 'race' slot so your character will end up being a 'human'.

I have encountered these problems when thinking of making a joinable IWD2 half-dragon NPC, only there, 'half-dargon' crashed the game when used on a party chatracter.

The only way you can go around it, is by blanking out all choices of weapons for her, *appart* from the sword.

Or give her an unremovable sword as a weapon :)

She also won't have any 'casting spell' animations.

Another thing, I think that BG2 does not have a 'half-dragon' in its 'race' slot so your character will end up being a 'human'.

Are these things hardcoded? If yes, my mod's journey ends here before even starting, otherwise someone could script the missing stuff.