Regarding Axes and Shamans (in Weapprof.2da)

Guest Fuzzylogi

Guest Fuzzylogi

Hey guys,

I just wanted to give Druids access to axes in IWD:EE (and probably remove use of scimitars from them).

So I have some minor experience with Near Infinity, and I thought I should edit the Weapprof.2da file as a first step.

I also took a look at this https://gibberlings3.github.io/iesdp/files/2da/2da_tob/weapprof.htm

Anyway, I started editing this file for Druid, Fighter/Druid, and kits, putting 1 instead of 0 in the line AXE (ID 6, NAME_REF  36795) - and 2 in the case of F/D.

But when I reached the Shaman column, I noticed they have a 0 in this position, although they can use Axes, and I'm playing a game with an axe-wielding shaman in fact.

I noticed they have a 1 in another place though, a bit lower... A second AXE line, but with ID 92, NAME_REF 36805 - I hadn't noticed it, lol

So my question is, what is the difference between those two AXE proficiencies? And how should I go about editing my Druids?

Thanks in advance, hope someone can shed some light cause I couldn't find more info.

Guest Fuzzylogi

Heya, it's me again!

So, I'm just curious to understand how this works.

Let's say I use values (x,y), where x=max proficiency points allowed for AXE 1 (ID 6), and y=the same for AXE 2 (ID 92)

From what I can see in the weapprof.2da, all the classes except for Shaman have x=y, either (0,0), (1,1), (2,2), (4,4) or (5,5)

But Shaman has (0,1) - and is able to choose Axe proficiency.

I did this test (all in one go):

I edited Druid from (0,0) to (1,1) and was able to choose Axe proficiency.

I edited Fighter/Druid from (0,0) to (2,2) and was able to choose Axe specialization.

I edited Totemic Druid from (0,0) to (0,1) and was able to choose Axe proficiency.

I edited Shapeshifter from (0,0) to (1,0) and was NOT able to choose Axe proficiency.

So it looks like the second line, AXE with ID 92 is the important one..