Bonuses when using specific weapons?

Guest Guest

Hi all

I'm fairly new at this (I've flailed around with NearInfinity and WeiDu quite a bit, but I've only just started actively trying to create stuff), and I have a question:

I am trying to create a kit that, among other things, gets an AC bonus when using longswords. This has proven quite difficult. Anybody have any ideas?

Here's what I've tried:

Effect #183 (0xb7) Apply Effect Itemtype

Apparently, nobody has ever seen this work. I didn't see it work, either.

Effect #72 (0x48) IDS: Set IDS State

I tried to give the kit some sort of unique IDS value, and then add a "Use EFF" effect to the sword .itm files, but couldn't get it to work properly. Maybe somebody who knows more about this effect has ideas.

Scripting: Much pain and suffering culminated in this sort-of solution

I added a script to the kit that goes something like this:

IF
HasItemEquipedReal("SW1H04",Myself) // Long Sword
Global("HASSWORD","LOCALS",0)
THEN
RESPONSE #100
	ApplySpellRES("SWBONUS.SPL",Myself)
	SetGlobal("HASSWORD","LOCALS",1)
END

This successfully gives me the bonus when I equip the sword, but the bonus won't go away when I de-equip it. The best I could come up with was to give the SWBONUS spell a very short duration (1), and then set a timer to keep recasting the spell as long as the sword was equipped. Unfortunately, I couldn't get the timer to sync up with the spell duration, so that the effects fluctuate--at times the bonus isn't applied at all, at others it's applied multiple times.

This led me to some specific scripting questions:

Is there a way to undo/remove the ApplySpellRES? I considered having another spell applied when the sword is unequipped that applied a penalty to counter the bonus, but I worry that that might result in a lot of effects piling up, which might be bad (?).

Is there a way to apply an AC bonus directly via the script? It doesn't look like there is, but maybe I missed something.

Thanks