How can I get In-Game NPC name from D/DLG filename? D/DLG filenames convention

Hey guys!

I'm a machine learning researcher, and I'm working on making a language model that can talk like a non-playable character (NPC) in video games. Basically, I want to teach it how to talk like the characters in Baldur's Gate and Planescape: Torment.

So, I found a way to get the dialogue from the game files by using WeiDU and turning it into a JSON format. The problem is, I can't figure out how to match up the dialogue with the actual names of the characters in the game. I tried searching for a table that maps the filenames to the NPC names, but no luck so far.

Can you guys help me out with this? Any tips on how to extract this info from the game files would be much appreciated!

Thanks a bunch :)!

Edited by boorlakov

It's not direct. Creature files have a "name" field, which is a string reference number. Those strings being referenced are in dialog.tlk, and vary based on the game's language.

Different creatures can have the same name, and different creatures can also have the same dialogue. Script actions can change creatures' dialogue files as well, and joinable NPCs always have multiple dialogue files. It's not one-to-one anywhere in the process.

As for a general convention, DLG files most often have the same name as the CREs they're attached to. The exceptions come when DLG files are shared across multiple CREs, and when a CRE (usually a recruitable companion) has multiple DLG files.

For the recruitable NPCs, their additional DLG files (banter, dialog while joined, dialog after leaving) are defined in 2DA files such as PDIALOG and INTERDIA.

Edited by jmerry

I've seen a references to .tlk file in .d files when parsed into JSON in format [NPC turn] -> [Player turn], so I extracted references into strings, but I've not seen any name field in .d file, only things like that:

BEGIN ~SCSARLES~