Editing spells

I'm new to WeiDU and I'm looking for the easiest way to edit existing spells. This is the first bit of code I wrote to edit Meteor Swarm so that it does 12d6 damage and bypasses MR. Then I change it's description to match. 

Spoiler

ACTION_IF (FILE_EXISTS_IN_GAME "spwi911d.spl") BEGIN
    COPY_EXISTING "spwi911d.spl" override
      WRITE_BYTE 0x0a7 2
      WRITE_LONG 0x0b6 12
      WRITE_LONG 0x0ba 6
    BUT_ONLY
  END
    COPY_EXISTING 
    "spwi911.spl" override
    "scrl9t.itm" override
      SAY NAME1 @825    SAY UNIDENTIFIED_DESC @826
END

I'll admit, I'm still getting confused on the correct "WRITE_X" syntax to use and how to write the offset location in WeiDU. I think I've deduced that the size column in NI corresponds to the syntax. 1 for BYTE, 2 for SHORT, 4 for LONG, and 8+ ASCII. The offset part is also tripping me up. When using the Find tool in NI and searching for hex values I can't get anything to return so I must be entering something wrong. My best effort is that start offset | A7h (167) is written as 0x0a7. 

I see many mods using "LAF edit_spell STR_VAR..." which looks like a much cleaner and easier way to do this, but I couldn't find the right examples to feel confident enough.  

You're targeting effects a couple layers deep in nested structures by their exact offsets. That's bad practice, and it's liable to break in unexpected ways if the spell is modified in some way that moves things around. I'd only ever use explicit offsets like that for top-level elements, such as if I wanted to turn this into a conjuration spell and exclude it for diviners instead of enchanters.