Change to 8-char resource name for existing innate ability

TheLizard

These are probably very basic questions since I'm new to modding this game. I want to change an innate ability -- let's say kensai's Kai ability SPCL114 -- so that it has an 8-character resource name (for use with opcode 172). Other than that, I want it to be identical to the standard version -- for example, it should be granted when I gain kensai levels, cast when a script requests casting KENSAI_KIA, and so on. 

Can I use 8 character names in CLAB and LU files?

What about spell.ids? There is a convention that the number in spell.ids corresponds to the filename, which I won't be able to follow. Will it be impossible to refer to the new resource in scripts via IDS reference? Is there any way around this?

Shorter resource names are just fine in opcodes that use a resource reference; the remaining bytes of that field are filled out with nulls.

SPLs referenced in a kit's CLAB - the GA_ and AP_ entries - can have a resource name of up to eight characters, at least in the EE. The first entry in Wilson the bear's kit CLAB, for example, is AP_OHRBEAR1. And of course, that resource name doesn't have to be of any particular form.

Entries in spell.ids encode the filename, and that filename is one of exactly four thousand possibilities (SPPR###, SPWI###, SPIN###, and SPCL###, where ### are digits). That's not just a convention; it's hardcoded in how the file works. Fortunately, you can tell scripts to use spells that don't have spell.ids labels; all of the "use a spell" actions have RES versions that take the resource name as a parameter. For example, here's a block from Aerie's script in BG2EE, to give her the right holy symbol:

IF
	HasItem("CDHLYSYM",Myself)  // No such index
THEN
	RESPONSE #100
		ApplySpellRES("CDHLYSY2",Myself)
		ActionOverride(Myself,TransformItem("CDHLYSYM","beltbw"))
END

56 minutes ago, jmerry said: