Repairing savegames

Guest Hamburger

Guest Hamburger

Hi all. I'm new to modding and was experimenting with what I thought was a very small, consequence-free mod and appear to have screwed up my game. Is there any way I can repair the damage without having to replay the game from scratch?

Specifically, I am playing SoA and modified the bedroom in the Order of the Radiant Heart (ar0903.are) to include some containers. Simple enough, right? Yet much later, I've brought Anomen to the hall for his trial and the trial sequence doesn't fire.

I know .are files are loaded into the savegame the first time they're entered and are maintained by the savegame after that (which makes sense, it's the only way to track objects left in the area). Are other kinds of files also permanently loaded? I'm tried removing everything in the override directory and it didn't help.

I was making my mod with DLTCEP and that seems to have a habit of generating files in your override directory even if you're not saving anything. Also I had installed a bunch of Baldurdash's mods and mine might have conflicted with one that allows you to rest in the hall after you join the Order.

How can I fix this and keep playing? Is there any way I can fire events manually using the console, for example?

Specifically, I am playing SoA and modified the bedroom in the Order of the Radiant Heart (ar0903.are) to include some containers. Simple enough, right? Yet much later, I've brought Anomen to the hall for his trial and the trial sequence doesn't fire.

Hmm. The only way I can think this might happen purely from area editing is that you've somehow unassigned the area script or damaged one of the listed creatures needed to start the sequence.

Guest Hamburger
Hmm. The only way I can think this might happen purely from area editing is that you've somehow unassigned the area script or damaged one of the listed creatures needed to start the sequence.