Porting NWN animations - a work in progress

So uh, yeah, this is a thing I've learned to do using Blender. I'm no expert on 3D modelling so this took me the better half of Saturday to figure out through trial and error. Because of this I don't know if I could provide a step-by-step guide on what to do, and I've only done a couple of animations for the NWN iron golem so far and I don't know if I can even learn how to handle the animation cycles when I get to it, but fingers crossed I guess.

This is a bit of a stretch since I don't know if anyone with this kind of experience is still around, but the only thing I desperately want but haven't a clue on how to do is attach a weapon to the 3D model. In any case figured getting this to work was something I felt good enough about to share.

automaton2.gif.3baaae61a2c79366034a2e1c5478463d.gif

This looks great! Adding new animations from NWN would be absolutely fantastic and sharing a step-by-step guide would be awesome.

I tried to convert a couple of animations using blender but switched back to 3DS Max because of some issues I could not solve. So I have a couple of questions:

- How did you import the mdl file?

- How is your camera setup?

- Did you manage to create a proper working shadow? This is the greatest obstacle using blender in my opinion.

Edited by Acifer

I downloaded the NeverBlender plugin which had instructions on importing - the mdl needs to be exported with NWNExplorer in ASCII form and then I removed the .txt from the c_goliron.mdl.txt file.

I swear I had shadows working at a certain point but then I did something that got rid of them and can't bring them back. I'm still trying to figure it out.

As for camera, I have it set up like this but I'm still fiddling with the settings:

Spoiler

bfba432a87d7596b856ec5d6b16a17e4.png

Edited by Artemius I