Installing SCS on Mac

Guest Boromir

Guest Boromir

This is my first time modding the game, despite playing it for years. I play on Mac. So when trying to run the setup-stratagems.command, Mac gave me the error that I didn’t have permission, and I needed to go to File > Get Info to fix it. After some trial and error and googling, I found I needed to run “chmod u+x /path/file.command” to give it permission, which I did in the right Terminal window. When I tried again to run the setup-stratagems.command in the left Terminal window, it give me that error, saying I still don’t have permission. Image here.

I tried to fix it by running the "chmod u+x" command for setup-stratagems and the stratagems file, but it just gave me this.

Not sure what I need to do to rectify this issue.

Try using this

It’s been a long long time since I set this stuff up fresh. You might need to set the permissions for the whole game folder and everything inside it. I think you can do that by selecting the game folder and hitting cmd-i for the Get Info box; permissions are at the bottom of that window. 

Yeah “source code zip,” then unzip it and put the app into your game folder. Run it from there. You can make copies of the app and put copies in other game folders if you have multiple instances of the game(s). 

You may have to jump through some hoops to get it to run the first time, depending on how new/locked-down your version of MacOS is. 

It’s not really an “app” - just an applescript with two bundled .txt files, which upon being double-clicked generate and run a shell script. No actual executable to speak of. Nevertheless, Apple keeps making it harder and harder to use. 

Edited by subtledoctor
On 4/15/2023 at 5:29 PM, OrlonKronsteen said:

Jeeze, I keep hearing about how much harder it is to do things on Mac now because of security. That really sucks, especially since ease of use is supposed to be a selling point.