Randomized Innate Spell Turning?

Hi there! I'm very new to modding and am trying to create a creature in NearInfinity that uses the true stats of a Death Knight from P&P AD&D 2e. The P&P version has 75% Magic Resistance, with one caveat: there is an 11% chance that any spell will be reflected back at the caster. I'm trying to implement this on the creature itself, but so far the only way I've learned I could realistically do it is by adding a check on a per-spell basis, meaning I'd have to change every daggone spell in the game just for one creature's effect lol. I really don't want to do this, so I've been trying to find a workaround.

So far, my super jank workaround has been to create a spell that is cast on the Death Knight once per round if it has any enemies nearby. The intended effect is that the spell would apply 1 level of Spell Turning that would last for 5 seconds, and reapply itself next round if the probability check is good. I tried changing the probability value of the spell effect to be 11%, and also tried changing the probability of the "Cast spell on condition" to be 11%. Neither of these worked—it seems to always trigger the casting of the spell.