Error installing Fixpack on fresh ToB

Guest warax

Hi guys, I've encountered an error installing your BG2 Fixpack and I thought I'd give it a shot here on the forum. Always last to the party, and only like 10 years too late, I found the G3 mods today, and gave them a go. I laughed a bit when the setup script suggested I fire off an email to the author, because as a developer myself, I'd probably never read it!

My install procedure was as follows:

Fresh copy of BG2

Fresh copy of ToB

Apply BGII-ThroneofBhaal_Patch_26498_ENGLISH.exe

Apply Widescreen mod ( worked in BG2 and Tutu, which I also discovered 10 years too late )

Apply Fixpack

I encountered a repeatable error patching some resource, always staff 15, here's a blurb from the error log. (I always hate when testers come to me with pastes like this from my code)

ERROR: illegal 2-byte read from offset 1338 of 1194-byte file staf15.itm

ERROR: [staf15.itm] -> [override] Patching Failed (COPY) (Failure("staf15.itm: r

ead out of bounds"))

Stopping installation because of error.

I trolled around your forum and the interwebs and the closest thing I could find to this problem was a guy from '06 complaining about two mods colliding and giving him this exact same error. Given that this is a totally fresh install, I figured I needed to beg for help.

If you guys are still active and don't mind lending a hand, I appreciated it. If not, this falls on the deaf ears of the inter-tubes. It's highly likely that I missed a pre-req that I was unaware of, being a total noob.

Interesting.

Could you have a look in your override folder and see if you have the file staf15.itm there? If you do, could you zip it up along with the setup-bg2fixpack.debug and upload the archive to e.g. Mediafire (registration is not necessary)?