Game(s) Database?

LookToWindward

Hi,

I've just joined and thought I'd say hello. I found this site because I found the GemRB Project. It all started when I got back into BG and BG2 (I got the EE versions of both), I love the game and was intrigued how a game like this was put together. I'm a Mac Developer and when I started looking for tools to let me explore the data files that drive the games, at that time, I couldn't find one that worked on the Mac. I've since found a couple but since they are really just re-skinned Windows App's or written to be Cross Platform in Java, they really don't provide a good experience on the Mac. Anyway, I set about decoding the various file formats that make up the "database" and found the File Formats published on the GemRB site.

I've started writing importers written in Object-C (and have a few of the basic files format working, CHR, CRE, BIF, and I'm currently working on the KEY file. Anyway, I took a step back from this and realised that life would be so much easier if all these structures were contained in an SQL database (SQLite actually) and I've started down that track. I have a SQLite file that I have generated that contains all the CREatures from from BG-EE. This was just a proof of concept and now I'm designing the Model/Schema for the data as a whole. Rather that re-invent the wheel, I was wondering if there is already a Model/Schema for this? If so if someone could point me at it, I'd really appreciate it.

I would't mind volunteering to work on the GemRB project, I have a lot of experience on Mac and iOS using Cocoa and have worked on a number of High Profile Apps for both Platforms.

One thing that struck me was that I was wondering in the GemRB engine could benefit from having all the data built into an SQLIte database?