Editing and Adding spl files

Guest Alex

Guest Alex

I'm new to modding I decided to make my own revision of the Shapeshifter Druid kit. I want to add a Lesser Werewolf transformation for the early levels. with Nearinfinity I exported the spcl643.spl file, renamed it spcl645.spl and changed the descriptions. I put the file in the Override folder but when I launch the game, it overwrites the descriptions in the spcl643 file.  how d I keep all 3 files separate?

Also, how do I edit the the abilities effects? I'm guessing it's in the "spell ability" section but I cant make heads or tails of those values.

1 hour ago, Guest Alex said:

how d I keep all 3 files separate?

Well, you don't use Near Infinity to edit the description, but you make the mod into a weidu mod, aka you start by making a text file, rename it into a setup-modname.tp2 -file and then you open up any other weidu mods tp2 file and have a look... basically, you add this to the file:

BACKUP ~modname/backup~  
AUTHOR "Alex"

BEGIN ~Lesser werewolf~
COPY_EXISTING ~spcl643.spl~ ~override/customs1.spl~
SAY NAME1 ~spell name~
SAY NAME2 ~spell name2~
SAY DESC ~new description for the spl file~
//additional weidu code

And then you copy one of the other the setup-modname1.exe's you have in your game folder if you have installed any mods, and name that as the specific setup-modname.exe, yes, the modname in the above example is your unique name for it... so use it in all the places you find it.

1 hour ago, Guest Alex said:

Also, how do I edit the the abilities effects? I'm guessing it's in the "spell ability" section but I cant make heads or tails of those values.

This is likely because the spell points to a specific creature or item... so your best bet is to make a custom creature or item, and edit the spell accordingly. In the case of the werewolf form, is an item, cdbrbrp.itm . Which uses a polymorph effect to refer to the werewodr.cre -creature. So there.