Companions won't initiate dialogue

I'm a novice modder and my first mod is about 80% complete but I'm having an issue during testing. There are a few cases where a companion is supposed to speak to the player after certain events, but either this doesn't trigger at all or it only triggers if the companion is force-talked. I've combed through a bunch of scripts from the game itself and from other modders and it seems like it should be working, but clearly I'm missing something. 

For example:

IF
InParty(Myself)
OR(2)
Global("PhaereInnuendo","GLOBAL",2)
Global("PhaereInnuendo","GLOBAL",3)
OR(2)
Global("RasaadRomanceActive","GLOBAL",1)
Global("RasaadRomanceActive","GLOBAL",2)
Global("OWR_phaere","GLOBAL",0)
THEN
RESPONSE #100
SetGlobal("OWR_phaere","GLOBAL",1)
END

IF
Global("OWR_phaere","GLOBAL",1)
THEN
RESPONSE #100
StartDialogueNoSet(Player1)
END

Basically: After visiting Phaere's chambers, a romanced Rasaad should initiate a dialogue. (This is something that can occur within the scope of the mod.) The first block seems to be functioning as the dialogue will trigger if I force-talk Rasaad.

In case it's relevant, this script is in the TP2 as: APPEND ~RASAAD.BCS~ ~OW#PHRAS.BAF~

Any help would be appreciated!

Well, your second block should definitely have InParty(Myself) as an additional condition; if you dismissed him after the first block ran but before the second (which, since they won't run on the same pass through that script, is at least possible), you'd stutter-bug him with forced dialogue that didn't change the conditions for its activation.

Wait, APPEND? Oh, that's your problem. That command simply appends your BAF script to the BCS file. Which makes that part of the file complete nonsense; here's what last few lines of rasaad.bcs look like before mods:

36OB
0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 ""OB
OB
OB
0 0 0 0 0"" "" AC
RE
RS
CR
SC