Hi new member with some ideas, looking for feedback

Daevorn

Hi! First of all important to say that BG2 is my favourite game of all time, its truely brilliant, owned since it came out I believe BG2 to be the best rpg ever made. I think its a shame that the time and effort now goes on graphics as opposed to the plot and characters (although Bioware still do a good job of both). As a long enjoyer of many mods Ive always been fascinated with creating my own. As such I thought Id give it a go, as I feel there is a really interesting story to be told inside of me and I think I could maybe create something other people enjoy too. This is just an idea at the moment but its one Ive been adding too for several years, it would be very interesting to see what people think.

So the basic idea I had was this - an ancient mage so powerful he was on the verge of destroying Amn and the Sword Coast was taken down by a coalition of the most brilliant minds of the day (Im thinking a young Elminster had something to do with it) who created an enchanted weapon that turned him and his armies into stone. However forseeing his doom the mage created a second item, one that when used in the right hands would undo the spell.

Im sure you can see where this is going, but I think you are met by a shady man in the Copper Coronet who tells you of a huge stockpile of gold, a lost armys' warchest, untouched for millenia, and he just so happens to have the key, passed down to him from a relative who served the great mage. Now this is the perfect opening quest, alongside the D'Arnise hold and windspear hills quests, and simple get the money for the theives/Bodhi.

If you accept then this quest would take place alongside the rest of the game, using the underdark as a quest location to keep you from trying to complete the quest when you are not ready.