Need some advice on a Planescape Torment WIP mod

Prrsha

Hi!  I’m new to the modding scene and have been using some tools like DTCLEP to work on the classic version of Planescape Torment.

My long term goal is to hopefully add some spice to the rather bland, generic monsters in PST by giving them abilities found in 2nd ed PnP rules (or as close as I can).

I’ve been successful making silver items harm Abishai (and other monsters).  I’ve also been revising AC values to thugs (depending on what form of armor they wear, leather, studded leather, chain etc., and making adjustments to the damage type they are resistant to).

Little things like that… but the next thing I’d like to tackle is the spell like abilities that Baatezu have in PnP D&D.

I was trying to add some wizard spells to .cre files of Black Abishai using DTLCEP and I successfully add the spells using DTLCEP to the .cre but it only uses standard melee attacks but not any spells. (yeah, I know NI is probably a better tool for that but I can’t get it to run on Windows 7 or XP [I use that OS to run PST classic] so that has been the next best tool I’ve been using).

My main question would is it even possible (without a major mod to the game) to make random Black Abishai you encounter in the Hive make use of Wizard spells?

I apologize in advance for my naïveté.  I’ve never really coded anything myself, I’ve just dabbled in values with existing scripts, learning as I go.

Nice idea! For monsters to use spells, you have to teach it to them, it's not enough that they know them. This means that you have enhance their AI script with decision-making for when to cast what spell, instead of attacking, moving, etc. Cranium rats are one example that already does that, though it's more complicated, since they count.

6 hours ago, Prrsha said:

I know NI is probably a better tool for that but I can’t get it to run on Windows 7 or XP