Scripting help to identify creature by name

Sam.

So I have very little scripting experience, but I want to add a block to my character's script that will cause him to attack every creature with a specified name that he sees. Let's use "Squirrel" as an example. I thought this would be it, but it doesn't work. I assume I'm failing to grasp something fundamental here...

IF
	CharName("Squirrel",LastSeenBy(Myself))
THEN
	RESPONSE #100
		Attack(LastSeenBy(Myself))
END

What's the right way to approach this problem?

Try Name(S:Name*,O:Object*) instead. "S:Name*" is the script name of the creature, so it probably doesn't work correctly on creatures without a script name (as in the case of the squirrel).

First in your tp2 (only if the cre does not yet have a script name at offset 280, like e.g squirrel)

COPY_EXISTING ~squirr.cre~ ~override~

WRITE_ASCII 0x280 ~Squirrel~

COPY_EXISTING ~squirl.cre~ ~override~

And in your script

IF

See("Squirrel")

HPGT("Squirrel",0)

THEN

RESPONSE #100

Attack("Squirrel")

END

Try Name(S:Name*,O:Object*) instead. "S:Name*" is the script name of the creature, so it probably doesn't work correctly on creatures without a script name (as in the case of the squirrel).

First in your tp2 (only if the cre does not yet have a script name at offset 280, like e.g squirrel)

And in your script

IF

See("Squirrel")

HPGT("Squirrel",0)

THEN

RESPONSE #100

Attack("Squirrel")

END

Thank you both. This method worked well enough, but I did have to modify the CRE files to add the Script Name. I was hoping not to have to modify other files to get this to work. Is it not possible to use the creature's actual name instead of the script name?

And in your script

IF

See("Squirrel")

HPGT("Squirrel",0)

THEN

RESPONSE #100

Attack("Squirrel")

END