Are Icewind Dale maps compatible?

Belanos

I'm developing an itch for modding in BG1 Tutu, I see a number of areas that could use some additions. But since I'm not really an artist, it would be nice if I could just pilfer some of the dungeon/cave maps from either of the Icewind Dale games. Is this possible, or are they a different format?

Also, is it possible to have a key encounter be placed in a random location?What I'm thinking of in particular is the battle with Mulahey, or whatever his name is, in the Nashkel mines. There's three mine shaft entrances on the surface. If each of those shafts were in use, possibly just copying the existing layout or using the graphics from the other mine further north, could I have Mulahey's hideout appear randomly in any of the three or would I have to place it in a fixed location?

If you are using IETME, you can get them to work using the following method:

- Set IETME to use the IWD1 game.

- Extract your area.

- Set IETME to use the BG2 game.

- Re-save the area.

You have to make sure to remove resources that aren't in BG2 - for example creatures on the map and ambient sounds that play. Otherwise it'll crash. :)

I'm not sure about the random area part.

- Extract your area.

- Re-save the area.

You have to make sure to remove resources that aren't in BG2 - for example creatures on the map and ambient sounds that play. Otherwise it'll crash. :)

I have DLTC Edit Pro, would that work as well? If not, where do I get IETME? And what about spawn points, would I be able to leave those in there and just change the creatures that are spawned?

IETME is currently over at clandlan.net, I think.

DLTCEP should accomplish the same though - set DLTCEP up to read the IWD game-files, open the .are, change the version type, and save the area.

As Andyr says, you'll need to make sure to remove any references to creatures, sounds, animations etc, as this may not exist in BG1, and so would cause a crash.