Crazy Celvan

Garfield

Here is the thing: I'd like to have my NPC talk to Crazy Celvan in the Docks, as Bioware NPCs do. Problem is... I don't know how to code that...

I cannot use INTERJECT(_COPY_TRANS) can I? Because otherwise it will be added after some other NPC's dialogue. So how can I do the following:

Have Celvan speak his "poem" when my NPC talks to him (I've looked at the triggers in NI, I know I should use RandomNum), then have the NPC answering, then going back to Celvan's dlg, at state 2:"Tee-hee hee!"

I guess I should append something to Celvan's dlg, then extern it to my NPC's dlg, and go back to Celvan's buuuuuuuuuuut... I am a total noob in anything containing APPEND or EXTERN :D

Thanks to anyone who can help :)

I don't know who Crazy Celvan in the Docks *is*. Which game (there's a docks area of Baldur's Gate, too, don't forget)? Is he added by a mod?

If he's added by a mod, best to leave him alone. Never a good idea to mod somebody else's mod unless you arrange it in advance. Also, install order becomes an issue.

If he's just a BioWare NPC non-joinable that I never ran into, and there are a few, then you should be perfectly fine with INTERJECT_COPY_TRANS *unless* something happens after talking to him, like a journal entry, giving gold, a reputation point loss/gain, or going hostile, or unless the PC has responses after the state you want to interject into.

If an action (setting a global, journal entry, giving gold, going hostile) occurs after the state you want to interject after, you have 2 choices: you can either use INTERJECT_COPY_TRANS2 (*if* there are no PC responses), or you can still use I_C_T, but you're going to need to give Celvan a line after yours.

Interjection order is installation order dependant. The mod installed last gets to interject first, as a rule.

Here's one of Gavin's interjections, so you can see what I mean.