Spawn an item at a certain location?

Salk

Hello!

I was wondering if there is a way for me to spawn an item on the ground at certain coordinates.

CreateItem() seems to require a creature as parameter. I guess I could spawn a creature with the item in the inventory and then destroy it?

Sounds macabre and quite unintuitive though... 😄

Edited by Salk

I think it's the only way to get an item on the ground during the game. The cre could also drop the item with DropItem(S:Object*,P:Location*) and then despawn. 😉

Danger is that if the player doesn't pick it up, the item will be gone after being away from the area for a certain amount of time.

The item could also be edited into the are file upon installation. I don't think that activate/deactivate really works for containers, though. I think they highlight although the player cannot interact with them or something - I have no experience with it, though.

Thanks for your help, jastey.

If the item is a plot item it should not ever disappear from the map though, right?

Do you happen to know how to enable the plot item flag via WeiDU?

But if I could edit the item into the area file then that'd be great. But I'd need to create a container for it, if I am not mistaken?

Edited by Salk
38 minutes ago, Salk said:

Do you happen to know how to enable the plot item flag via WeiDU?

Assuming you want the item in question to be movable, displayable in shop, magical and NON 2-handed, I think this could work:

COPY_EXISTING ~ITEM.itm~ ~override~
 WRITE_SHORT 0x18 109
BUT_ONLY

I'm assuming it's an existing item because you want to modify it via WEIDU and not merely by dropping it into override after editing it in DLTCEP (which would be much simpler).

If not, you'll have to use COPY instead and point to the directory's location.

But if I could edit the item into the area file then that'd be great. But I'd need to create a container for it, if I am not mistaken?