Tactics mod question

Guest Sabba

Hi

I'm new to BG2 and AD&D rules in general but I don't mind a super hard challenge. I installed Tactics and was wondering if it is beatable starting fresh with a new character?

Whenever I read about reviews on the Tactics mod and when people talk about it, it seems everyone imports a strong character.

Learning BG2 can be difficult enough as it is--things like which quests are too difficult for a low-level party, the mystifying array of Wizard protection spells, etc. The Tactics mod was written who thought many enemies had very poor AI (this is true), and lots of bosses needed to be made less difficult (less true).

On the whole, leave Tactics until you've beaten the game a couple of times. And even then, the difficulty/quality of the various components of the Tactics mod are very different: Some are great, some are pathetic, some are insanely difficult, some are so easy you won't even notice the change.

I'm not totally new. I've played a little bit before I had to do other things. For quest, if you're to low, don't you figure that out when you get there? I don't really mind all the stuff that might be considered "tedious" for a new player. Like the load of learning a new game plus dealing with the challanges of the game at the same time.

I just want to know if Tactics was meant for starting out with higher lvl chars...because I don't want to waste time trying to get through the first dungeon when it's impossible when starting with a new character.