a mod idea: removable spellbooks and greater general risk of being pickpocketed

Lemernis

Warning: Just file this whole discussion under the category "hey, wouldn't it be neat if this could be done". Sorry if I get a little carried away as I run with the idea:

In the IWD-in-BG2 forum the idea came up that spellbooks might somehow be made into real physcial items in the inventory that can be removed from the mage's possession.

If or how that might be done, I cannot say, not being a coder myself. But if it is codeable it does offer some intriguing possibilities for gameplay.

A mod that introduces the feature that the mage's spellbook can be removed from his possession--and offers a substantial risk that this will indeed happen--certainly affects how the game is played. The loss of a spellbook at a critical time could be devastating to the party's progress. Protection of mages and their spellbooks becomes crucial to strategy throughout the game.

Blank spellbooks would be available for sale in magic shops. But I would make them rather costly. Given that such enormous wealth is accumulated during the course of the game, money sinks arguably serve to improve play balance.

In the case of Irenicus dungeon, I would make it so that the spellbook has been destroyed, i.e., it is irretrievable. The mage then has to start over with a brand new, blank spellbook available at Adventurer's Mart (for a pretty penny).

Also, throughout the game, if a mage is incapciated in some way during a battle (panicked, unconscious, confused, stunned, etc.) enemy rogues could steal the spellbook from their gear. Even during the heat of battle I think this is feasible, given the general confusion.