Is there a really ridiculously simple new item creation weidu tutorial?

bholland

Okay, so I am a software engineer, I get almost all of the concept except one. How and where is the TLK file modified? I can create all of the items I want in NI and I can put them into a folder with my mod name and I have something which defines how the item is installed (the TP2) file. What I don't get is how to inject my own strings in dialog.tlk. I believe only the string references are saved in the itm file. I don't know how to link up any string (mostly name and description) so that weidu knows that my item is called "The Great Staff of Kickass" with the description about how my new and ingenious staff does in fact kick ass. I don't see why this would be done in a .d file and I don't know how it fits into a tp2 file.

Basically I am looking for a really really simple, step by step guide to creating (not editing an existing item but actually creating) a brand new item with a different name and description than any string which currently exists in the tlk file and THEN install it with weidu.

One would think this is something which is written up but I have been looking for a week and found nothing this simple... compiling a dialog script, yea but item creation seems a bit trickier.

Thanks for the help... yes this is a total NOOB question and yes I am total NOOB when it comes to bg2 modding but I have an idea for an interesting mod and I think I might want to try programming it up in a bit but it most likely will take a long ass time since the learning curve seems a bit steep.

~Ben

The SAY command is used most often for this. It adds the string to dialog.tlk and then writes the strref that was assigned to the given position in the file.

COPY ~yourmod/youritem.itm~ ~override~
 SAY UNIDENTIFIED_DESC ~i wonder what this thing does... durpy doo~
 SAY DESC ~oh man it's a sweet axe or something~

There are other ways to add things to dialog.tlk: REPLACE and RESOLVE_STR_REF.